Advanced Retention Policy


Vembu NetworkBackup offers advanced retention policy which lets user to retain multiple versions of a file on backup server. This feature allows user to configure retention policies for backup and deleted files based on two factors: version based retention and time based retention. This advanced retention policy provides user with multiple restore points during recovery.

Advanced Retention Policy

How it works

Advanced retention policies are user defined in Vembu NetworkBackup which can be configured during backup job creation and modified later, if needed. Retention cleanup will be initiated based on the retention policy configuration, when a backup schedule gets completed.

Backup File Retention

Backup retention policy offers user a choice to retain multiple versions of a backup file that are being modified over various backup schedules.

Backup file retention can be done in two ways:

  • Version-Based Retention: Version based retention lets user to retain multiple versions of a backup job based on specified version count which can range from 1 to 99
  • Time-Based Retention: Time-based retention lets user retain the backup job in terms of time period instead of version count. The user can retain any number of backup versions or set limits for the number of versions for a specified time period
Example: If retention period is set to 1 year, backup server will have multiple versions of backed up files stored for 1 year.
Version Based Retention Policy

Deleted File Retention (For Deleted Files)

Delete retention policy offers user a choice to retain deleted files in backup server which are actually deleted from client machines.

Deleted file retention can be done in two ways:

  • Version-Based Retention: Version based retention lets user to retain multiple versions of a deleted file based on version count specified which can range between 1 to 99
  • Time-Based Retention: Retains the deleted files for a specific time period from the date of deletion
  • Don’t retain deleted files: This option is not recommended as it removes the deleted files from backup server. When backed up files gets deleted from client machines, it leads to automatic removal of deleted files on the backup server

Start your 30 day free trial now